Day 48

Well the troops are back from their overseas campaign. Here’s how we got on.

Our “team” was Martin, Bob and me using Late roman, Sassanid Persian and Ottomans.

We each played 5 games and rotated the armies so that I ended up playing twice with the Ottomans, twice with the Sassanids and once with the Late Romans. I didn’t get off to a very good start when I was drawn against Andreas using Nomads. This was the one army that I didn’t want to face with the Ottomans as I knew I was going to get shot off the board whilst being unable to get into contact with the skirmishing horde. Sure enough it was a slow and painful death that resulted in an 18-2 defeat. Here is a pic of the early exchanges.

Game 2 I was drawn vs Tony and the evil Achanian Franks, a very tough army. This was a very close and hard fought game that could have gone either way. Eventually the Ottomans got lucky and managed to squeak a win 14-6. Here’s a picture of the initial dispositions.

  

Game 3 I switched over to using the Sassanids vs Xavier and his Normans. A good match up for the Sassanids and a hard opponent for the Normans resulting in a comfortable 18-2 win.

Game 4 it was my turn to use the Late Romans vs a hairy horde of barbarians. A good game vs my german opponent and I was pleased with a 16-4 win.

Game 5, back to the Sassanids against top player Graham (also using Sassanids). A very very close game that I eventually won 12-8.

So overall I was very pleased with 4 wins out of 5 games and a score of 62pts. The team finished a creditable 4th.

A view from the Ottoman back ranks.

It was good to catch up with old friends and also meet new ones.

So, next step is to finish the Akinci this week and then get the m ready for Ebay.

Cheers W.

Leave a comment